Announcement: New Editorial Board AFLJ

by | 6 May 2021

The Australian Feminist Law Journal (AFLJ) is pleased to announce its new Editorial Board. Founded in 1993, the AFLJ has been an important intellectual home for critical feminist legal scholarship in Australia and globally. We recognise the extraordinary commitment of the many feminist scholars who have contributed to the journal over the decades, including previous Editorial Board members and the founding editors. As a renowned and vital international feminist law journal, the AFLJ has led the way in supporting cutting-edge legal scholarship that pushes the limits of orthodox legal research andmethodologies. The journal has created a unique critical space for publishing feminist research informed by critical theory, cultural and literary theory, jurisprudential, postcolonial and psychoanalytic approaches, among other critical research practices. The incoming Editorial Board brings together Australian feminist scholars from a wide range of backgrounds and theoretical orientations with a shared passion for questions of law and justice. We believe that the role of law, broadly understood, in contemporary local and global contexts, must be critically and rigorously examined through innovative, interdisciplinary legal scholarship. Importantly, the AFLJ will continue to publish scholarly research that expands the scope of legal methodologies to re-imagine the possibilities for law and justice in our communities.The incoming Editorial Board will honour and deepen the AFLJ’s commitment to publishing innovative feminist research with a strong theoretical orientation. We are committed to building on the AFLJ as a critical academic platform that fosters the development of interdisciplinary and intersectional scholarship and also creating spaces for critical feminist, culturally and linguistically diverse, First Nations/Indigenous, differently-abled, and LGBTIQA+ and queer perspectives. 

Find us on Twitter at @austfem, Facebook at or send us an email at

Managing Editors: 

  • Sayomi Ariyawansa (University of Melbourne –Law School)
  • Balawyn Jones (University of Melbourne –Law School) 
  • Anjalee de Silva (University of Melbourne –Law School) 

Editorial Board: 

  • Akuch Anyieth (LaTrobe University –Department of Social Inquiry) 
  • Dina Afrianty (LaTrobeUniversity –Law School) 
  • Annie Blatchford (University of Melbourne –Law School) 
  • Angela Kintominas (UNSW Sydney –Faculty of Law and Justice) 
  • Odette Mazel (University of Melbourne –Law School) 
  • Claerwen O’Hara (University of Melbourne –Law School) 
  • Valeria Vázquez Guevara (University of Melbourne –Law School)


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Join 4,680 other subscribers

We respect your privacy.


*fair access = access according to ability to pay
on a sliding scale down to zero.



Publish your article with us and get read by the largest community of critical legal scholars, with over 4500 subscribers.